top of page

#BookTalk: Maryse's Book Blog


We're delighted to welcome our first #BookTalk guest to the PHS: Maryse Black of Maryse's Book Blog!

Tell us your vital stats:

My name is Maryse, I live in the USA and I've been reviewing since 2009.


What made you choose the romance genre?

I fell in love with the romance genre, when I fell in love with Edward from Twilight. I had NO idea a person could fall head-over-heels in love with a fictional character and suffer (or enjoy) the same effects of being in a real-life love fog. I was hooked and I wanted more!


Your favorite trope?

I'm partial to the reclusive, moody hero that wants nothing to do with a relationship (or people in general) and that keeps everyone at a safe distance, yet is reluctantly forced to share space with someone or take care of someone. That slow burn and building trust, when done right, always gives me butterflies.


I'm also often tempted by "forbidden love" stories. I love to see how it all plays out and to feel the trouble, angst and heartache the main characters experience. And yet despite all of turmoil, their incredible need for each other and unwillingness to let the other go, overcomes all. Or tries to. I guess it depends on the ending. ;) That, too, can be an incredible love story.


What kind of story do you think is still missing from the genre?

I'm drawing a blank... I want to say it's all been done in some way, shape or form, but hey, I haven't read everything yet, so I'd love to hear some suggestions, so I can be on the lookout for something new!


Your house is on fire. What book do you save?

*gasp* Only ONE book? I'd like to choose all of my signed indie favorites from back when they still had their original covers. I can't choose one. And anyway, they are all positioned together on my bookshelf, so I'd just take the whole pile, in one fell swoop. ;) After all, if the house is on fire, I probably can't see enough, or think enough to try and find only "one". ;)


What’s the 2017 release/next book in a series you’re most looking forward to reading?

Easy!! The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid. I have loved every book by this author, and I'm SO excited about this one.


What is the book you’d hands down recommend to our readers?

My absolute favorite for the longest time (since I became hooked on "New Adult" indie - actually it's a major part of the reason I fell in love with the genre), is Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, and I will continue to love it and recommend it forever!

To find out more about Maryse and her reviews, check out her website and her Goodreads profile, and follow her on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page