top of page

Consistency is the Key to Balanced Living


Join Jill Kemerer as she explains how the last year has brought change through consistency...


One year ago, I was twenty pounds heavier, frustrated with my writing output and wasting a lot of my free time playing games on my phone. I wanted to fit into my clothes without feeling like a stuffed sausage. I also wanted to publish the nonfiction book I’d been talking about for years and spend my free time reading, drawing and just…living. However, the following issues held me back:


I didn’t want to lose weight only to regain it within a month.


I didn’t want to add even more hours to my already busy writing schedule to publish more books.


I didn’t want any new hobbies to leave me exhausted.


Experts say to eat less and exercise more. To work smarter, not harder. To be intentional about every minute. Why are these concepts so easy to grasp but oh, so difficult to put into practice?


I figured I had nothing to lose by trying something new—no more manic life overhauls. Consistency became my new mantra.


My health goal became counting calories every day and exercising for thirty minutes four to five days a week. For my writing, I examined my daily habits and realized I wasted more time on social media than I’d thought, so I set strict limits on scrolling through Facebook. Instead, I used the time to write. And as for my free time, I deleted all my phone games and borrowed a stack of library books, bought an art journal and made a list of things I wanted to do.


By embracing consistency, my life slowly changed. The weight fell off, and I continue to count calories and exercise. More books were written and released. I exceeded my reading goals and continue to add new hobbies. I’m happier and more content than I’ve been in years. Consistency truly is the key to finding balance in your life. Try it!

Jill's latest release, The Rancher's Mistletoe Bride, is out now. For more information check out her website and follow her on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page