top of page

WIN A COPY of Redeeming the Rogue Knight


It's #GiveawayTime at the PHS! This month we have a digital or print copy of Redeeming the Rogue Knight from PHS columnist Elisabeth Hobbes for one lucky reader.

PHS Exclusive Excerpt from Redeeming the Rogue Knight

After far too long, Lucy returned, looking weary. This time she entered the room carrying a bowl. In the other hand she held the poker at arm’s length in the manner that people who had never held a sword thought they should be brandished. She took three steps, stopped and placed the bowl on the floor. She used the poker to push it towards Roger. It contained watery broth and wasn’t meaty enough for Roger’s liking, but he drank it eagerly. Remembering his intention to woo Lucy into freeing him he thanked her politely. She received the compliment stony-faced.


‘Is there more?’


‘Put the bowl on the floor and push it towards me,’ Lucy instructed. ‘I’m not stupid enough to come closer.’


Roger’s cheeks flushed with annoyance. She spoke to him as if he were her equal. His stomach growled as the broth made its way down, waking the appetite that had been dormant. He pushed the bowl out. She hooked the handle of the poker round the brim and pulled it closer. A thought struck him as he watched.


‘Is that what you burned me with?’


She folded her arms across her chest, hunching her shoulders defensively.


Roger shifted until he was sitting more upright. ‘You tied me to your bed and branded me!’


‘No,’ she blurted out. ‘I burned you, then tied you to the bed.’


Roger barked a laugh. ‘I’m not sure the order makes much difference to me now. And you did this without instruction? Why?’


‘Because you attacked me,’ she answered. She raised her head, revealing troubled eyes that bored into him. ‘You were crying out that I should run, but holding on to me. You wouldn’t let go when I tried to pull free and I panicked. I didn’t mean to hurt you.’​

Fun facts about Redeeming the Rogue Knight

Redeeming the Rogue Knight features Roger Danby, the villainous brother from The Blacksmith’s Wife, though the story can be read as a standalone. I wasn’t going to do anything else with him, but so many people asked me what he got up to, I decided to find out.


The story is set in the area where I now live. Like Roger, I ended up here by accident, though not for such dramatic reasons. The St Barnabas Fair that Roger and Lucy visit has been reborn as The Barnaby Festival, an arts, music and food festival, but so far without any jousting (more’s the pity).


This is the second plot that came from a night in my local pub where a friend and I spent the evening chatting to a couple of strangers about the contents of a mysterious box they had with them. The other one was The Saxon Outlaw’s Revenge. We never found out what the box contained.


Something else that's interesting about this book is, the name Roger means ‘famous spear’ in old Germanic. I didn’t know this when I chose it so it was a great coincidence, given his ambition to be a famous jouster!


Redeeming the Rogue Knight :


The spy who sought refuge…

When injured spy Sir Roger Danby comes asking for shelter at her inn, Lucy Carew is wary. He may be strikingly handsome, but the disgraced single mother has learnt the hard way with men like him. Against her better judgement, she gives him refuge.

Sir Roger has never been at the mercy of a woman before, and he’s never met one as mysterious and bewitching as Lucy. He hasn't come looking for redemption, but Lucy is a woman who could reach in and touch his closely guarded heart…

How did you end up living where you're at? You can tell us in the comments after logging in and it will count as an entry to win a digital or print copy of this fabulous book, or you can just enter below. Good luck! And HUGE CONGRATS to Lori Dykes who won last month's giveaway!

For more information about Elisabeth and her writing, check out her website or follow her on Facebook and Twitter.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page