top of page

#FreshStart - Amy Andrews


It’s the beginning of a whole new year; what time could possibly be better to become more motivated and inspired? You have a whole 365 days ahead of you, and now is the time to start making them count, so we're asking authors what they've got planned for the year ahead!

Amy Andrews talks about the reasons she's super excited for all that 2019 will bring.

Welcome to 2019. It’s a bright, fresh sparkly year. A big one for me in a lot of ways. Firstly, I turn 50 this year so that’s big. I mean, I just squeak it in, but the fact remains—this year I will be the big five zero. Honestly, I can’t believe I’m going to be so many years old when I still feel like that sixteen-year-old girl who fell in love with a guy who knocked on her door and knew instantly she was going to keep him. Except of course in the mornings when I feel about 95 and everything cracks and creaks and I swear to myself that I will never ever, ever drink a bottle of wine over the course of the night again...


Secondly, 2019 will be the fifteenth anniversary of my first publishing contract. With 75 books under my belt since then, I think I’ve navigated those waters reasonably well, despite the ever-present feeling of being a fraud and an imposter and worrying it could all just disappear tomorrow.


But, the best is yet to come...


April 2019 sees my first ever single title print book available on shelf in the US! In Walmart! And Barnes & Noble! Don’t get me wrong, I’m available in print all over the world, which is awesome. My books can be found in translation on shelves throughout Europe and in places like Japan, Indonesia and South Africa and I had one medical romance released as a Presents Extra several years ago that went on shelf in the US. I absolutely love that my books are read all over the world. I had a reader contact me via my Facebook page in December telling me she’d seen my book (in a duo with none other than Nora Roberts!!) on shelf in Finland.


But a single title romance on shelf in America is like the Holy Grail. The US romance readership is huge and why the hell wouldn’t I want to tap that? (bad romance pun) I’m ecstatic to finally be reaching an audience of romance lovers who have probably never heard of me and I’m like a kid on Christmas Eve waiting for release day.

So, what’s it called and what’s it about, I hear you ask? Nothing But Trouble is the first in the Credence, Colorado series. It's Northern Exposure meets Two Weeks Notice, set in the quirky little town of Credence. This small, rural hamlet, running out of single women, decide to advertise on Facebook for more. Cue bedlam and one very pissed off ex hometown football hero who’s come back to Credence to get away from women and the distractions of Denver to write his memoir. He’s not a happy camper. His PA, on the other hand—also not a happy camper about being dragged to the middle of nowhere - is not only delighted at his crankiness but actively helps the opposition to get the Grow Credence initiative off the ground.


There’s a bunch of quirky secondary characters including the hero’s southern belle momma, a pig called Wilburta and my first ever male virgin! I had so much fun with this book and I really hope that readers everywhere love it too.


So...roll on 2019. Let’s hope it’s just the start of kicking ass in my fifties!


Amy's latest release, Nothing But Trouble, is available to preorder now. For more information about her and her writing, check out her website, and follow her on Facebook and Twitter.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page